The Book of Revelation 1:4

To The Seven Churches

“John to the seven churches which are in Asia:” (Rev 1:4a KJV)

The Book of Revelation was addressed to the seven Churches in Asia, but it is applicable to the Church age.

Some teach that the seven Churches were chosen because they are representative of historical stages of the Church. I do believe that the Churches represent stages of Church history, but I also see that the Churches existed at the same time. I believe that a specific Church is prominent at a specific time in history, and the Churches represent the spiritual state of Churches in general.

This could mean that today’s prominent spiritual state is Laodicea – the lukewarm Church. That is most certainly the prominent state of the Churches today. In general, the Church world today seems that they are not as concerned with evangelizing the world, but instead they’re engrossed with the cares of this world- placing themselves before God.

The Seven Spirits of God

“Grace be unto you, and peace, from him which is, and which was, and which is to come; and from the seven Spirits which are before his throne;” (Rev 1:4b KJV)

The Seven Spirits of God are not literally seven individual Spirits, for God is one Spirit.

” For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether we be Jews or Gentiles, whether we be bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit.” (1Co 12:13 KJV)

There is one body, and one Spirit, even as ye are called in one hope of your calling;” (Eph 4:4 KJV)

The number seven is God’s number for perfection. The Seven Spirits of God could refer to the fullness, or perfection, of God. The Seven Spirits could also refer to the seven aspects of the Spirit of God found in Isaiah.

“And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD;” (Isa 11:2 KJV)

These seven Spirits belong to Jesus.

“And unto the angel of the church in Sardis write; These things saith he that hath the seven Spirits of God, and the seven stars; I know thy works, that thou hast a name that thou livest, and art dead.” (Rev 3:1 KJV)

“And I beheld, and, lo, in the midst of the throne and of the four beasts, and in the midst of the elders, stood a Lamb as it had been slain, having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven Spirits of God sent forth into all the earth.” (Rev 5:6 KJV)

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.